Today. Now.

Every day there is something that could have gone better. Every day there are people I wish to see and conversations I want to have. Every day there is another list of tasks that I need to get through. Every day there is something new to worry about. Every day there are new (and old) roadblocks that get in the way. Every day we learn something new despite whether it be about the world around us or ourselves. Every day a new page is turned.

I can sit here and wish about all the things I wish would change. I can do nothing but ponder about the things I have no control over. I can simply go through the motions endlessly and be blinded to everything that is going on around me.

Or…I can do something.

I can be the person who initializes a conversation. I can be the one who makes a difference in another’s life. I can be the person who goes over and beyond to reach my goals. I can be the person who introduces someone else to their passion. I can be the person who saves another from their own thoughts. I can be the one who helps solve problems instead of ignoring them. I can be the person who helps someone through their toughest times. I can be the person who does the unexpected to make someone else’s heart warm up. I can be the one who decides how I live my life.

I may not know what I’ll be doing a year from now – I don’t even know what’s going to happen next month – but I can control what happens today; I can control what I do today.

Leave a Reply

