I watch my back. What do you expect?

I may have my earphones in but the music is soft enough to the point that I can still hear the footsteps behind me getting closer. I may be in the middle of a time-sensitive project but I will still pause when I hear an abnormal sound vibrate through the air. I may be in the middle of laughing or talking to a friend but I will turn around right when I feel anything create a chill going down my spine.

I grew up getting told everyone was out to get me. I grew up being lectured about how everyone in my life only wanted to use me. I grew up learning how to wear a mask instead of wearing my heart on my sleeve.

I grew up getting told everyone wanted to take something from me, or hurt me. I grew up being isolated from the rest of my relatives. I grew up learning that staying silent was always better than getting in trouble.

That’s part of the background of a person you may not ever truly know, because for you to truly know me means I would have to truly trust you. And I don’t do that.

Leave a Reply

