One More Time

The warmth of his arms wrapped around me starts to melt my stone cold heart. The sweetness in the words he says in forgiveness for all my sins starts to remind me that, as a human, I am bound to make mistakes. The adoring looking in his eyes start a ripple in the fabric of time that awakens the butterflies who fell asleep in my stomach. The smile upon his face as he looks at me starts to effect me and cause me to smile back. I can’t help it.

I had forgotten what it felt like to have someone care so much about you. I had forgotten what it felt like to have someone there for you. I had forgotten what it felt like to have someone want nothing but the best for you and ask for nothing in return. I had forgotten what it felt like to simply, have someone.

Honestly? It makes me uncomfortable. The affection he shows. The appreciation he gives. The honesty he doesn’t deny. The truth he doesn’t hide. I’m not used to it.

It makes me want to run and hide. It reminds me of the silence before a heartbreaking storm. It reminds me of the mysterious silence in horror movies before an attacker comes out from the shadows. It reminds me of the unwanted emphasis when something horrible is about to happen. It scares me.

It makes me want to walk the opposite direction. It reminds me of the happiness before disaster. It reminds me of the peacefulness before a bomb is dropped. It reminds me of the simplicity before everything gets complicated. It worries me.

But the way his arms wrap around me and hold be tight feels like home. The way his eyes look at me feels like acceptance. The gentleness of his hands on my arms feels like respect. The sound of this voice feels like music to my ears.

But being with him feels like home. Cuddling in his arms feels safe. Vulnerability around him actually feels alright. Being there with him…feels right.

But…let’s take a leap of faith….let’s see what happens….I’m curious.

Leave a Reply

