What’s ‘Perfect’?

In a perfect world, my mom would try to understand me.
In a perfect world, my dad would actually talk to me.
In a perfect world, I wouldn’t be looked down upon because of my sister’s achievements in life.
In a perfect world, I would be able to talk to my family and friends about LIFE.

In a perfect world, isolation to get work done wouldn’t feel so depressing.
In a perfect world, these thoughts wouldn’t constantly be filling my brain.
In a perfect world, my parents would believe in mental illnesses and try to help.
In a perfect world, people would see my pain.

In a perfect world, I would understand the thoughts that my hormones cause.
In a perfect world, I would know what to do when I like someone.
In a perfect world, I would get why things made people react and act the way they do.
In a perfect world, I would understand emotions, both mine and others.

In a perfect world, my family would be patient with me and realize I have a mental illness.
In a perfect world, they would try to be there and understand instead of bashing on the existence of my mental health and say I am only trying to get attention.
In a perfect world, my friends would listen to me and not push me away because I am depressed or stressed or “too uptight”.
In a perfect world, I would feel as if I actually belong and am WANTED.

In a perfect world, I would know wrong from right.
In a perfect world, my mistakes wouldn’t follow me years and years into my future.
In a perfect world, I would be able to express myself without being yelled at.
In a perfect world, the things I love and cherish and value wouldn’t be considered as foolish, unimportant, childish things.

In a perfect world, relating to one another wouldn’t be so hard.
In a perfect world, having deep conversations wouldn’t be so rare.
In a perfect world, meaningful friendships wouldn’t be something that people say only exist in fairytales and movies.
In a perfect world, someone staying true to themselves wouldn’t be so hard to find.

In a perfect world, my parents would support me as much as my sister.
In a perfect world, my family members would try to provide me the same guidance as they do when they all jump up to help my sister.
In a perfect world, expectations of me wouldn’t be so high up in the sky because of my sister.
In a perfect world, I wouldn’t constantly get yelled at because I’M NOT LIKE MY SISTER.

In a perfect world, I wouldn’t be struggling on my own.
In a perfect world, my tears would be seen instead of drying up on my cheeks.
In a perfect world, I would have companions at my side.
In a perfect world, I would have faith that everything will be alright…

Leave a Reply

