You Said

You said you would always listen to me when I couldn’t stop talking.
You said you would always smile when you saw me genuinely happy.
You said you would always make me smile when I am down.
You said you would always try to brighten my days when they’re full of clouds.

You said you would be my shoulder to cry on.
You said you would be my legs when I couldn’t stand.
You said you would be my eyes when my pain blinds me.
You said you would be my lifelong friend.

You said you would wait for me to believe your words.
You said you would wait for me to see myself the same way you did.
You said you would wait for me to find myself.
You said you would wait for me to understand how much you loved me.

But you don’t hear me when I am ranting, whether out of frustration, panic, or happiness…not anymore.
But you don’t see me when I am genuinely happy anymore.
But you don’t even know when I am down anymore.
But you don’t know when my days are full of lightning and thunder.

But you aren’t here when tears fall from my eyes.
But you aren’t here when I can’t stand on my own and fall to my knees.
But you aren’t here when all I feel is hurt.
But you…y-you aren’t here.

But not long after I did, you left.
But I never could see myself through your eyes.
But I still don’t know who I am.
But…I…

I know. I know how much you loved me. I love you too. So please, please come back to me. I-I miss you dearly…

Leave a Reply

