Hidden Between The Lines

“I hate you.” She snarled. I love you, she thought.

“The feeling is mutual.” He growled. I hate it when we fight like this, he thought.

She looked up into his dark brown eyes. Why does it always have to be like this? “What do you want?”

He stared back at her empty hazel green eyes and sighed, I want us to be okay. How do you not know that by now? Why do I fight with you? I want to fight for us. “I don’t know…”

She closed her eyes and turned her back to him, tears filling her eyes. I just need to know that you want me as much as I love you. Why can’t you tell me that? Why can’t you tell me how much you want me to stay?….Do you?…want me to stay? She hugged herself and felt herself grow numb and weak.

“Hey…” I know you’re hurting. I know you better than to be convinced you’re just turning so you don’t have to look at me in the eye. You don’t want me to see you in pain anymore… “Are you okay?”

She softly chuckled, “Of course I am. Are YOU?” WHY DON’T YOU KNOW BETTER?! You should know me better that this, baby.

He gently placed a hand on her shoulder in attempt to be there for her, but she took a step forward and stayed out of his reach. “I am.” ….but that doesn’t matter since I know you aren’t. 

Please leave me alone…I don’t need you to feel sorry for me and be here out of pity. I want you to be here because you want to be…not because you feel obligated to be. “Okay then.”

Please let me be here for you. I know you want to be strong and independent but I hate when you push me away in order to be that. I’m here for you. I love you. Please let me. “Ok.”

 

Leave a Reply

