I Know

I’m holding his hand in mine, smiling and laughing and enjoying my time. My feet sank perfectly into the cold sand beneath us as the gentle waves pushed the water to kiss our souls. The sun was just beginning to set and the sky was beginning to change to the perfect colors of happiness.

I took a slow, deep breathe and smiled. I looked over at him and saw proof of how much he adored me. He smiled and gave my hand a little squeeze.

“I-”

I heard a squirm and immediately had my walls up. I turned to the sound without thought and saw…something I wished I had seen sooner.

I dropped his hand and sprinted towards them. The closer I got, the more I saw and the faster my heart beat. I slowed down to a walk and moved to where I could be seen.

The man looked up at me and snarled, “Get lost, pretty girl. You don’t belong here.”

I looked to the girl in his choke hold and then back at him, “I think you’re the one who doesn’t belong here. Let her go.”

“You don’t know who you’re dealing with. Get lost.”

I shrugged and slipped my hands into my pocket, “I could say the same to you. Get lost. Let her go.”

He chuckled, loosening his grip on her without knowing, “I’m warning you, dear.”

I smirked. I saw the girl look up to me, begging me not to do something I’d regret. She needed my help but was scared out of her mind.

He noticed me looking at her. He gripped at her throat and pulled her onto her feet by it, her struggling to breath in the process.

“Why don’t you take a closer look?” He pushed her towards me but then yanked her back, making her grip at her neck as she gasped in pain.

“Why do you do this?” I ask calmly. “She’s done nothing to you.”

“You don’t know that. She could’ve killed my family. You wouldn’t know that, would you?” He asked back.

“Well, did she?”

“N-no…but-”

“But nothing. Let her go!” I slapped him.

He stumbled back in shock and let go of the girl who quickly ran behind me. I took a step closer to him but I soon felt a hand gripping at my arm. I looked behind me and saw that it was the girl pleading me to not do anything.

How did this angel of a girl get stuck like this? She just got her life beaten out of her by this guy but she was asking me to let him go. What did she ever do to deserve this treatment?

In that moment of wonder, the man took the opportunity and yanked my arm back. The girl tried to help and tried to pull me back but she was too weak. There was soon a blade to my neck and my arm was held at my lower back. I snarled.

He chuckled, “Ain’t so tough now are you, sweetheart?”

I stayed silent. I looked ahead and saw him. We were just walking down the beach watching the sunset. Now the sky was getting dark and I was in danger. Great.

“Let her go!” He commanded.

“Now, what do we have here?” The man asked amused. “Are we going to relive her mistake, tough boy? Get lost. You don’t belong here.”

“Maybe I don’t, but I’m here. What are you going to do about it?” He challenged.

The man stumbled on his words. He was taken off guard. Perfect. I took the opportunity and jammed my elbow into his ribs. He yelled out in pain…but I did too at the same time.

I was pushed ahead, where my boyfriend caught me, as the blade that was at my neck cut a slit through my skin. Arms quickly wrapped around me protectively and held me close. I stared back as the police cars were heard and the man hobbled away.

I gently pushed away and went by the girl I had rescued. “Are you okay?”

“Thank you. Thank you so much. I am sorry you got hurt. Thank you for saving me.” She kept repeating.

I helped her on her feet as policemen came and wrapped a blanket around her, “I’m glad you’re okay.”

I watched as paramedics came and took her away. I smiled. I had done something good.

“Are you okay?” My boyfriend asked, pulling me close with an arm around my waist.

I smiled and rested my head on his shoulder, “I’m okay. I’m sorry about our walk.”

He smiled, “Let’s walk back.”

We started to walk back to the car. The sky was a very dark blue, nearly black. The moon reflected within the calm ocean. The horizon disappeared in the darkness. It was very calm and, finally, peaceful.

“Oh!” I suddenly remembered as I sat down in the car. “Weren’t you going to say something earlier?”

He smiled as he shut the door and walked around the car to the driver’s side. He started the engine and started backing out of the parking lot.

“What was it?” I asked curiously.

He looked over at me and changed the gear before slipping his hand into mine, “I love you.”

I smiled and knew he meant it.

Leave a Reply

