Say 1 Think 2 Do 3

“You don’t want to be around me. I’m not someone you should get involved with…” Please tell me you know that I am wrong when I tell you this. Please tell me you believe differently, and my telling you this only justifies your reasoning even more. 

“Okay.”

No. You weren’t suppose to be okay with leaving me. Please don’t leave me…Please believe in me more than I believe in myself. “OK…ay.”

He turns to walk away. He suddenly feels arms around his stomach from behind. He feels her body against himself.

“I don’t believe you.” She mumbles against his back.

What? He didn’t dare move, scared that he had misheard and this was all in his mind. Did she just say….

“It’s my choice whether I want to stay by you or not. It’s up to me to judge whether I think you are a good person or not.” She squeezed him tighter. “So, please, don’t tell me to leave you alone. I know you don’t want to be alone. I know you want someone to understand you and be there for you. Please, let me try to be that person. I want to be that person.”

He couldn’t manage to string together a sentence. “I…you…b-but…I…”

“I care about you. I want to be here for you whenever you need me. I don’t want to leave you. Please don’t make me.” Her voice was soft and caring and genuine. He loved it.

“Okay.” He closed his eyes and sighed, relieved.

He turned and wrapped his arms around her. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

